Chinese Teas By Class

First of all, there is not a class called “tea bag“. Tea bags are great for convenience but it’s not the subject of discussion on Here, we talk about loose leaf teas that are fresher and tastier.

You might have heard of Chinese teas like Oolong tea, green tea, red tea, etc. but you might not be able to count them all. Don’t worry, most Chinese can’t.

There are 8 classes of Chinese tea branching into thousand kinds of tea:

  1. Green tea
  2. Oolong tea
  3. Black tea
  4. Red tea
  5. White tea
  6. Yellow tea
  7. Flower / Scented tea
  8. Compressed tea

Green Tea

  • Green tea is the most natural tea class.
  • Green tea is only dried with heat and undergoes no fermentation process.
  • Green tea is believed to have the most medicinal value of teas and very low caffeine.
  • More examples of Chinese green tea.
  • In picture – Dragon Well Green Tea.

chinese green tea drago well

Oolong Tea

  • Oolong is a class of tea as well as a kind of tea.
  • Oolong tea is half-fermented and thus is relatively thick in flavor.
  • Oolong tea is very popular in South-East China such as Fujian, Guangdong and in Taiwan. It is also the most popular tea for Kung Fu Tea.
  • You got to love this – Oolong is an emulsifier for fat and cholesterol. Like a savior for today’s junk food eaters.
  • More examples of Chinese Oolong tea
  • In picture – Tie Guan Yin

chinese oolong tea tie guan yin

Black Tea

  • Black tea is a fully fermented tea class.
  • Black tea is the everyday tea of the west and northwest.
  • Black tea is good for cleaning up the digestive channel because it’s an emulsifier for fat and cholesterol. Weight-watchers’ gospel.
  • More examples of Chinese black tea
  • In picture – Pu’Er (Pu’Er is also a compressed tea)

chinese black tea pu er tea

Red Tea

  • Red tea in Chinese is sometimes translated to English as “Black Tea“. Could be that the degree of fermentation for Chinese red tea reaches the international standard for black tea.
  • Red tea is not a major hit in China.
  • More examples of Chinese red tea
  • In picture – Tian Red

chinese red tea tian red

White Tea

  • White tea is similar to green tea except that it’s roasted.
  • White tea has the lowest caffeine content and is very light in color and aroma.
  • More examples of Chinese white tea
  • In picture – Longevity Eyebrow (Shou Mei)

chinese white tea shou mei

Yellow Tea

  • Yellow tea is most similar to green tea.
  • The smell of yellow tea is close to that of black tea.
  • Although yellow tea has a distinct taste, but there are some degree of similarities between yellow, green and white teas.
  • More examples of yellow tea.
  • In picture – Junshan Yinzhen (Silver Needles from the Emperor’s Moutain)

chinese yellow tea junshan yinzhen

Flower / Scented Tea

  • Flower tea is sometimes called scented tea. (Oh, I have said that in the title)
  • The base of flower tea can be black, green or whatever the color. Then ingredients like flower petals might be added.
  • Flower tea is popular in Northern China.
  • More examples of flower tea
  • In picture – Jasmine Tea

chinese flower tea jasmine

Compressed Tea

  • Compressed tea is common in the West and South-West China.
  • Compressed tea cake should be stored in contact with air at room temperature to allow continuous fermentation. Pu’er ages like wine and after a few decades, it can really go up in value.
  • Although Kung Fu brewing is fine, best way to prepare compress tea is to boil (unusual way to prepare Chinese tea) it in order to extract full flavor out of the tea. Very “tough” kind of tea it is.
  • More examples of compressed tea.
  • In the picture – Tuo Cha

chinese compressed tea tuo cha